Tell a Friend

Click on a county in the navigation to see trails in that particular county.

Skip Navigation or scroll down to see trail description. Add or Edit Trails on this site.

Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail

Click to see County Trails
BikingKayaking or CanoeingCross Country SkiingEquestrian RidingHikingMountain BikingSnowshoeing

Trail Description

Earth Lodge at Knife River

Lewis and Clark Visitor Centers-North Dakota

Knife River Indian Villages National Historic Site
PO Box 9 County Road 37
Stanton, ND 58571
Phone: (701) 745-3300

Four Bears Museum
PO Box 147
New Town, ND 58763
Phone: (701) 627-4477

Ft. Abraham Lincoln State Park
4480 Fort Lincoln Road
Mandan, ND 58554
Phone: (701) 667-6340

North Dakota Heritage Center Capital Grounds
612 E. Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505
Phone: (701) 328-2666

Fort Union Trading Post National Historic Site
RR3 Box 71
Williston, ND 58801
Phone: (701) 572-9083

Theodore Roosevelt National Park
Box 7
Medora, ND 58645
Phone: (701) 623-4466

Fort Mandan North Dakota Lewis & Clark Interpretive Center
PO Box 607
Washburn, ND 58577
Phone: (701) 462-8535

Did You Know?

Lewis & Clark National Historic Trail Map

Two hundred years after the Lewis and Clark Expedition, the only physical evidence of the journey is found near Billings, MT. In July 1805, William Clark carved his name into the soft rock of what he called Pompeys Tower. This site is now preserved at Pompeys Pillar National Monument.

Overall Information

The Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail is part of the National Trails System of the United States. In 1804, Meriwether Lewis and William Clark began a voyage of discovery with 45 men, a keelboat, two pirogues, and a dog. They departed from Camp Dubois, located in what was to become the U.S. state of Illinois.

President Thomas Jefferson had long dreamed of what lay to the west of the young United States – the animals, plants, and minerals, and a route for eastern trade. The President had privately requested Congress to fund the expedition shortly before the Louisiana Purchase in 1803. Lewis and Clark were ordered to write accounts of all they did, each species encountered, details of cultures they met, maps of the land—everything. They traveled over a three-year period through lands that later became 11 states.

Most of the trail follows the Missouri and Columbia Rivers. Much has changed in 200 years but trail portions remain intact. At 3,700 miles (5,950 km), the trail is the second longest of the 23 National Scenic and National Historic Trails. It begins at Hartford, Illinois, and passes through portions of Missouri, Kansas, Iowa, Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota, Montana, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington.

Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail Headquarters and Visitor Center

The official headquarters for the trail is located at the National Park Service, Mid-West Regional Headquarters, in Omaha, Nebraska. The visitor center features exhibits about the explorers and their historic trip, as well as information about sites along the trail.

Current Weather Forecast:

Stanton, North Dakota, weather forecast

New Town, North Dakota, weather forecast

Mandan, North Dakota, weather forecast

Bismarck, North Dakota, weather forecast

Williston, North Dakota, weather forecast

Medora, North Dakota, weather forecast

Washburn, North Dakota, weather forecast

Search for up-to-date info:

GPS Data: ???

Downloadable Maps: